What about SOY?

The Soy Question

I am allergic to dairy, so years ago when I discovered a dairy alternative with soy yogurt I was really excited.  I love yogurt and granola for breakfast, but quickly realized that with soy yogurt my body was reacting the same way it was with dairy, so I stopped using soy products. When I noticed that my daughter was also allergic to dairy I tried to give her soy as an alternative and the same thing happened. We both tested positive for soy allergy. After that I completely stopped using soy related products.

I had never really questioned soy, but the more I started reading on the subject the more concerned I became for all the people who don’t have an allergic reaction when they eat soy and believe it is good for them. The articles I read completely blew me away.  I found the following article “Soy Story” in Ani Phyo’s  “Ani’s  Raw Food Essentiels” book to be the most helpful information on the topic. But have posted several additional sources for soy research in the links below.

Soy Story

“Being of Korean descent, I was surprise to find that my mom and I are both allergic to soy. This allergy has been appearing in my skin as inflammation that I mistook as acne. A friend recommended I try eliminating soy and my skin cleared up in a matter of weeks. I had thought soy was part of a healthy Asian diet. To my surprise, I discovered soy is actually toxic.

In Asia, soy is fermented to eliminate the antinutrients and soy toxins in raw soybeans. It’s eaten only in small amounts in the form of tempeh, miso and, soy sauce. Nama Shoyu is a raw, unpasteurized, and safely fermented soy sauce used in raw food to add a salty, rich flavor to recipes. It’s full of enzymes that make it a living food.

The soy in America, on the other hand, is processed and not fermented. Dr Kaayla Daniel, author of The Whole Soy Story, says, “Today’s high-tech processing methods not only fail to remove the anti-nutrients and toxins that are naturally present in soybeans but leave toxic and carcinogenic residues created by the high temperatures, high pressure, alkali and acid baths and petroleum solvents.” In an attempt to eat more protein, Westerners eat ten to twenty times more unfermented, highly processed soy than is eaten in Asia. Ironically, this unfermented soy contains enzyme inhibitors, which block protein absorption.

What’s even scarier is that almost 90 percent of American soy is genetically modified, and the soy crop grown in the USA contains the highest levels of poisonous pesticide contaminants. No wonder soy is among the eight most common food allergens and has been linked to thyroid problems, including weight gain, fatigue, hair loss, loss of libido, kidney stones, a weakened immunes system, infections, and digestive problems to name a few.  And, since soy doesn’t taste so good, manufacturers flavor it with sugar, MSG, and other artificial chemicals to make it palatable.

Dr Mercola points out, “Dow Chemical and DuPont, the same corporations that brought misery and death to millions around the world through Agent Orange, are now the driving forces behind the promotions of soy as food for humans. They are financing anti-meat and anti-milk campaigns aimed largely at those concerned about animal welfare and the environment, trying to convince them that imitations such as ‘soymilk’ are not only healthier than the real thing, but better for the earth too.

“There is no evidence that consuming soy products can improve health, reduce environmental degradation or slow global warming. In fact, the evidence suggests the quite opposite”

Soy, like all food, is best in its natural, whole, raw form food. The bulk of the soy consumed in the USA is highly processed, and not so good for your health.”

http://www.ratical.org/ratville/soydangers.html

http://westonaprice.org/soy-alert.html

http://articles.mercola.com/sites/articles/archive/2000/02/13/more-on-soy.aspx

www.mercola.com/article/soy/index.htm

There’s many links on Dr Mercola website to article about soy

www.shirleys-wellness-cafe.com/soy.htm

http://www.johnrobbins.info/blog/what-about-soy/

Leave a Reply

  • This website is intended to give you information about healthy eating. I’m not a nutritionist so what I’ve learned is through my own research and personal experience. I am not a medical doctor and information on this website should not be considered medical advice. If you’re looking for a formal medical diagnosis or prescription, you should seek out an actual doctor (preferably one who is open to both eastern and western medical practices).
